Spamming Eviscerate since 2004

DPS Meme

I remember seeing a healer version of this exact thing on WoW.com a few days ago…or maybe weeks…I lose track of time.  Anywho, I was surfing around and saw this DPS version popping up every now and then so here I go…..

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Eviscerate, Rogue, 15/51/5 combat swords/maces (i switch depending on drops and such) and uhhh DOWN WITH MUTILATE!!! I have a sword and mace racial for A REASON!!!

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Anywhere I’m wanted, lol. Seriously though I’ve been raiding since AQ40 was released (started in MC though)

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

Eviscerate…….need I say more? Truthfully though it’s had it’s ups and downs but it’s the one skill that no matter what spec you are you have it on your bar just because it’s so…well….classic….yeah…classic…

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

Shiv? is that even considered a dps skill anymore? the skill i never use period would have to be expose armor though

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

IMO rogue bring (or should be) the purest kind of raw dps you can find, as combat I enjoy having extremely powerful cooldowns on relatively short timers, and quite frankly…hitting Fan of Knives on a bajillion mobs and getting 60 energy back through combat potency make me feel like a god. On another note, rogue have always been the one DPS without an resource lack, and while that’s not a big issue nowadays, on long fights rogues have always shined.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

I biggest pet peeve about being a rogue in a raid environment is the fact that so many rogues out there don’t know how to properly play their class, sure you can do 4k DPS or w/e but if you can’t stay alive, or actually be useful like your supposed to be on fights like Faction Champs (which I love running around and stunning and gouging anything that decides to chase a healer) No one will like you, and the fact that so many rogues are like that make the entire class be frowned upon in some places.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

Behind the boss, end of story, a running rogue does no DPS, adds should be taken care of by ranged if possible, they are better suited for it..with the exception of onyxia and her whelps in phase 2.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

Honestly most dps classes bring something to the table I can enjoy, but if I had to choose…probably a frost or blood death knight now.

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

Honestly…..i can’t say I don’t like any tank as a class in general, as logn as they keep shit off of me, i’m happy.

What is your worst habit as a dps?

I tend to get entranced in my cycle to the point I ignore vent….and don’t notice someone yelling to switch targets or move for a stomp….fucking gruul…

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

DPS THAT PULL!! OMFG give the tank 5 seconds or so to get the boss to hate him, for the love of god manage your fucking aggro. I HATE it when a ranged pulls, someone usually ends up dead, I lose dps, and the tank gets pissy.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

Honestly, I think rogues could use a bit of a perkmeup, considering the little utility we bring to a raid we should doing alot more damage compared to say….a boomkin, or feral druid….(can you tell i don’t like dps druids? heh…)

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?

Well, my laptop hates recount apparently, but I used to use that, other than that I don’t go crazy over who did the most damage as long as the boss is dead. As long as my cycle was 99% correct I’m happy.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

That rogues are useless, I saw it back in vanilla, back in bc, and even now. It’s a prejudice agaisnt a group of players that has attached itself to a class.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

Slice and Dice must ALWAYS be up, NEVER let it drop… EVER. and that a dead rogue does no dps

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

a dps warrior…jsut about any other class you give me a spec and i’ll know what to use for the most part…as a warrior…it’s just to reactionary for my taste, i’m a rogue, i like to plan my fights ahead. it’s why i have stealth

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

As crazy as this sounds I think i’m the only DPS in my guild that uses raid frames. I like monitoring recount (when it works) and seeing if someone DPS spikes due to cooldowns and such, and I pop tricks on them to make their cooldowns even more effective. and if i see a bunch of people die I know it’s time to vanish

Otherwise, i have stunwatch (naturally) and rogue timers for slice and dice rupture and such, i’ll post a screenshot of my ui someday

Strength over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

Every rogue should knowa stat is only usuful until you start stacking it exclusively, back in BC hit rating was king (for a time) because the white cap was attainable, nowdays it’s the proper sharing of stats that makes an effective rogue, I’m really curious to see what Cata will bring.

Tag – You’re It

I don’t know many bloggers…relatively new,…if you read this and have a blog of your own as a dps then do it 😀

SHARE THE LOVE!!!

2 responses

  1. theerivs

    I use to PVP with the class, I always thought raiding as a rogue would be hard indeed

    November 20, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    • raiding isn’t really that hard, at least to me it isn’t but i’ve been at it so long alot of it just reflex for me…i see fire at my feet i don’t have to think about it i just slam my head on w and hit sprint 😛

      November 20, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

