Spamming Eviscerate since 2004

Rant about 3.3

So I’ve been lacking in the department of keeping up with the changes and whatnot going on on the PTR, mostly because for some odd reasons or another I can’t seem to log on to it.

Well I just read an article over on WoW.com from Encrypted Text on all of the upcoming rogue changes. Easier leveling, bleh I don’t care I have an 80 rogue. Lowering the cooldown on prep, bit of a smile but nothing major. Then there’s the poison change, which both make me excited and infuriates me, and I’ll say the folks at blizzard are the only people that are capable of pissing me off and making me happy at the same time. I’ve already touched on the poison changes but just as a recap.

Asssassination
* Improved Poisons now increases the chance to apply Deadly poison to your target by 4/8/12/16/20%. (Up from 2/4/6/8/10%)

Poisons
* Deadly Poison now has an additional effect – Once stacked to 5 times, each application of Deadly Poison also causes the poison on the Rogue’s other weapon to apply.

I should be happy for these changes and honestly and truthfully I am, but in it’s usual fashion Blizzard has broken something to fix something else. Right now Assassination rogues are WTFROFLSTOMPING every other class and spec in damage on the PTR, which is an obvious balance issue, sure rogues are TECHNICALLY supposed to be the highest sustained DPS in the game (I have the blue post stating this so don’t argue with me!!!!) but enough is enough, 2k+ differences are just ridiculous. Especially between specs of the SAME class. Combat is extremely far behind assassination at this point (not even gonna mention lolsub, that’s a rant for another day) now don’t get me wrong, mutilate being a few hundred DPS ahead of combat is not an issue; that can be rectified by player skill and gear, but when the differences go into 4 digit numbers shit’s gotta change. Chase Christian over at WoW.com made some suggestion I’ll recap them here before I go on.
“Either Deadly Poison needs to be switched to PPM, or the MH poison proc it causes needs to be at half damage, or some other nerf to bring Mutilate back into the realm of every other class. Once properly tuned, Mutilate and Combat will be able to truly compete on any fight, regardless of mob type. The more that different rogue specs compete, the stronger and more balanced we will become as a class.”

Here’s my view, changing Deadly poison to a ppm would nerf the the rogue class in general, we need a nerf to ONLY affect mutilate, sure the nerf would probably affect mutilate spec more, but poison is a defining class mechanic of the rogue, which quite frankly; at least in my opinion, hasn’t seen enough buffs. We’re left with several options here.
-Tune Hunger For Blood and lower it’s damage increase
-Tune Find Weakness and lower it’s damage increase
-Tune Murder to be 2% damage against all targets
-Either revert the change to Improved Poisons or decrease the amount of change
Those are just my suggestions, (which I doubt blizzard will ever even see) needless to say SOMETHING has to be done about mutilate currently being the best (which to rogues means the only viable) spec for BOTH PvE and PvP. I’m all for just buffing combat to be on par with mutilate (or a few hundred DPS behind) but that would just cause backlash because of how far ahead rogues would be compared to other pure DPS classes and no one likes when the nerfbat comes crashing down. So nerfing mutilate now would make the blow a lot easier to handle.

3 responses

  1. theerivs

    Only true DPS class is the Mage everyone knows that!!!

    November 30, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  2. As a Mutilate Rogue this post makes me sad but it is so true. Blizz is building us up only to crush us with some kind of nerf. It’s bound to happen. Mutilate has gotten far to good way to fast and it’s only a matter of time before someone does something about it.

    That being said I’m a dagger Rogue for life and even when the ship starts taking on water, I’m going down with it till the bitter end.

    December 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm

  3. Sadly yeah it’s a nerf worthy gap which if im doing the math right would basically (or close enough to it) be fixed by reverting the buff to Improved Poisons. I love mutilate its my favourite rogue spec (though I did my tour of duty as combat during BC) but combat still holds more perks an thus will probably need remain a TAD behind on DPS but yeah 2K or more needs to be punted!
    Also though I prefer mutilate to play generally if within 1K DPS of each other ill take the combat to a raid before the mutilate (which doesn’t affect me by the way I mostly play a shaman these days) just due to them benefiting the raid more as a whole.

    December 3, 2009 at 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

