Spamming Eviscerate since 2004

Why Do YOU play WoW?

Someone asked me this exact question not to long ago and my answer has changed over time, and is rather long so…..here it is.

I started playing when my cousin bought the game for me over 5 years ago as a birthday present. I made an undead warlock and he made a warlock the only reason I played back then was to spend time with him plain and simple. We did a little of everything dungeons, pvp, all the like but never did anything for cereal. Then…he quit, and so did I ….for a little while

Then comes high school buddies saying their thinking about getting this new game. I make a human rogue and eventually a guild is born and we end up raiding (On a side note HOW do you come up with the guild name Pwn Waffles?? I mean REALLY?). The guild survives (even after several disbands and renames) and goes on till BC. Several of my buddies quit after BC came out but I kept going and ended up xfering to Ravenholdt and raided with Uther’s Hand for a while and enjoyed roleplaying in stormwind (weird but fun? i dunno) This goes on until illidan goes down, at which point I am burntout and quit despite pleas to stay. A few months ago an old friend of mine from high school calls me up and says “I’ll pay for your xfer and first two months if you play with us when we start again”. Eviscerate finds his way back to Azgalor and I play with my friends in ToC (which was the new content then). About two weeks after I come back I get an offer to join Brotherhood of Oblivion from Macharious after I pugged in one of their raids, so I leave the small guild my friends made to join BoO.

So there’s the short rundown of my history of WoW here’s the current….

Most of my IRL friends (save a few) have quit but the few that stayed are all kinda doing their own thing. I’ve found myself with an officer position in BoO and I vastly enjoy raiding with them, yet this time it’s not about the raiding. It’s the general camaraderie attitude that just explodes in the atmosphere with the many members of the guild.

So to make it short and simple.

I don’t play this game to raid
I don’t play it for the phat loots or some sense of accomplishment
I don’t play it too own other people
I don’t play for the vast majority of reasons I’ve seen people list on and on

I play basically, because my guild is awesome, or better put; The people in it are and quite frankly; I want to use every excuse possible to be around them.

So I guess this makes me a…..social WoW player? I’ve never heard that one before….

On another note…

7 responses

  1. I totally started playing WoW as break-up therapy.

    I kept playing because I met a boy who was just as into it as I was.

    We keep playing because it’s the best use of our entertainment budget we can find. It also fulfills a lot of our social needs now that I’m not working and also not really well enough to do a lot of going out and socializing.

    I like raiding. I like leveling new characters. I even (sort of) like PvP. But the reason I don’t dump WoW and find a lovely single player game is absolutely 100% because of the people I’ve met through the game.

    April 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

  2. The only reason I play anymore is cuz of you guys. Sure it’s sorta fun leveling other classes I haven’t maxed out, but the more I do that the more I find it isn’t the reason I keep playing.

    On the other hand…you guys are rarely if ever on Vent anymore!!! (Except you Evis. You’re always on Vent.) So much so that I don’t log in anymore.

    Sadly it feels like I’m losing touch with you guys. Hmm. Suppose I should log in and chat more…

    April 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

    • you don’t log on vent because i’m on?!

      QQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQ

      April 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    • I don’t log on vent when I’m just running randoms & playing around because I’m usually watching TV.

      However, Evee can vouch that – although I might grumble about it – I am pretty good about logging on Vent to “hang out” when asked.

      April 22, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  3. shadowtycho

    wow is something like the 6 or 7th mmo i have taken to, each time i switch mmo’s its because my friends changed games or i made new friends.

    April 22, 2010 at 4:30 pm

  4. theerivs

    I do it for the chicks.

    April 25, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    • obviously

      April 26, 2010 at 1:54 am

Leave a Reply

